Acknowledgements

Standard

To my loving boyfriend, who listened to my fears and took them seriously, who was there for me when  I needed him most, and who helps me see the funny side of this disease.

To my parents, who dropped everything so they could stay with me for a few days when I was first diagnosed. To my dad, who’s been my coach, and to my mom, who’s been there to pray with me when I’ve been scared, or tired, or just want my diabetes to stop. To my sister A, who hoarded juice for me, for my sister JR, whose phone calls always brighten my day, for my brother B, who makes the funniest memes I’ve ever seen, and for my littlest sister RG, who watched a Hercule Poirot mystery with me the day my blood sugar was so high I didn’t feel well enough to teach.

To my uncle, who lets me call him all hours of the day and night to ask questions and who always reminds me that it’s possible to live a happy and healthy life with diabetes.

To my roommate, who put up with me when I was falling apart and didn’t know why, who’s willing to make stupid diabetes jokes with me, and who made me awesome chili when I was diagnosed.

To my many, many friends who’ve driven me to doctor’s appointments, encouraged me as I tried to balance diabetes and grad school, and kept me supplied with a steady stream of funny you tube videos.

To my church family, for all their love and prayers.

To my teachers, for their care and concern and extended paper deadlines.

To my students, for their understanding for missed office hours and class periods, for their outpour of support when they learned about my diagnosis, and for the help they gave me when I had my first low blood sugar in class.

To every person who has ever written on my facebook wall or stopped me on the sidewalk or sent me an email to encourage me.

Thanks. Without you, I couldn’t have done this.

About Nel

As a graduate education student, I've come to the conclusion that teaching requires an addiction to caffeine. My favorite caffeinated beverages are coffee, tea, and diet Coke. And when I was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes in January 2012, I also came to the conclusion that living requires insulin. I blog about my busy life juggling graduate education courses, a teaching assistantship in my University's English department, and my recent type 1 diabetes diagnosis the The Clumsy Juggler. I do not live in New York City.

What do you think?

