Couch to 5k Day 1: Initial Thoughts

Standard
Living Room Couch

Living Room Couch (Photo credit: Mini D)

After last Monday’s conversation about running with a friend, I decided to spring the $2 to buy the Couch to 5k app. I started yesterday. Here are my initial thoughts, in the order they came to me: 

  • The developers weren’t exaggerating when they named this app; it actually starts from the couch. The first exercise starts with 4 minutes of warm up, 20 minutes alternating between 1 minute of jogging and 1 ½ of walking, and 5 minutes of cool down. Even if you exercised by watching FIRM videos from your favorite couch, you can handle this exercise.
  • If your ipod goes to sleep, you’ll miss the app’s audio clues. I had to tap the screen regularly to keep it awake.
  • My blood sugar levels actually went up after exercising. I find this is often the case for me; I assume it’s due to elevated hormone levels since I my exercise routines aren’t terribly strenuous.
  • I forgot to set my temp basal. Oops. Although my blood sugar goes up during and immediately after exercising, it will begin to drop a few hours afterwards. Like now. (I’ve been cramming carbs in my mouth all evening.)
  • Ever get pump tubing tangled in your iPod’s earbuds? Try to avoid it.
  • I need new earbuds.
  • Mulan’s “I’ll Make a Man Out of You” is a very motivating track. Good investment of 99 cents.
About Nel

As a graduate education student, I've come to the conclusion that teaching requires an addiction to caffeine. My favorite caffeinated beverages are coffee, tea, and diet Coke. And when I was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes in January 2012, I also came to the conclusion that living requires insulin. I blog about my busy life juggling graduate education courses, a teaching assistantship in my University's English department, and my recent type 1 diabetes diagnosis the The Clumsy Juggler. I do not live in New York City.

3 responses »

  1. Reblogged this on G33K APPROACH and commented:
    This is were I have been for the last couple of weeks. I’m not training for a marathon, but I’m interested to see the progress of the app. Perhaps I will be interested in a marathon in the future.

    • Thanks! It’s good to have “permission” to repeat a week if I need to; I probably wouldn’t think to do that even if I were struggling. I’ve really enjoyed the first two days. I’m surprised given my aversion to running in the past.

What do you think?

