I like cute things.

Standard

Like this

C9 by Champion® Womens Banded Bottom Tank - Assorted Colors

C9 by Champion® Womens Banded Bottom Tank

And this

C9 by Champion® Womens Short-Sleeve Tech Tee - Assorted Colors.Opens in a new window

C9 by Champion® Womens Short-Sleeve Tech Tee

And this

C9 by Champion® Womens Shapewear Capri Pants - Assorted Colors.Opens in a new window

C9 by Champion® Womens Shapewear Capri Pants

My current exercise clothes? Not so cute.

20120823-133229.jpg

T-shirt: Old work t-shirt, probably Hanes (under $10)
Shorts: Men’s exercise shorts, Adidas (picked up for free in the hallway)
Shoes: Running shoes, Walmart ($cheap)

They’re functional but frumpy.

While you don’t have to look the part to start running , it helps. I’ve decided to make new exercise clothes my rewards during the Couch to 5k program. It’s a brilliant idea because exercise clothes are probably the only rewards that will encourage me to keep exercising. Almost anything else I would like keep me on the couch.

As a reward for starting, I’ve gotten myself new running shoes. Really, the shoes were a necessity more than a reward: the last time I used my current pair of running shoes (a pair I bought from Walmart to wear at work when I worked in the dining common my sophomore year), I could feel water seeping into my socks after running through a puddle.

The tops don’t look too bad for four-year-old shoes. But you should see the soles.

After some searching, I ordered these beauties:

New Balance 561

New Balance 561

Two of my favorite colors AND I’m sure water won’t leak through the soles.

About Nel

As a graduate education student, I've come to the conclusion that teaching requires an addiction to caffeine. My favorite caffeinated beverages are coffee, tea, and diet Coke. And when I was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes in January 2012, I also came to the conclusion that living requires insulin. I blog about my busy life juggling graduate education courses, a teaching assistantship in my University's English department, and my recent type 1 diabetes diagnosis the The Clumsy Juggler. I do not live in New York City.

10 responses »

      • I take advantage of free piles in the halls of my dorm room. I’ve actually gotten some nice stuff that way; girls who fly home after graduation can’t take everything with them.

      • That’s true. I used to do that with books… I’m a big reader so I would take the “textbooks” people had (for their literature classes, etc they often were real books!) off their hands. Especially the ones that weren’t worth anything to resell… they were always stacked up!

  1. Pingback: Fresh Starts « The Clumsy Juggler

What do you think?

