Fresh Starts

Standard
pizza

pizza (Photo credit: Mickipedia)

Yesterday, I logged on to Twitter and clicked Compose New Tweet. “What’s happening?” Twitter asked. I’ve been in In Service for the past two weeks and today was the first day of classes, so the  better question to ask is “What’s not happening?”  It’s an easier question to answer.

Here’s what’s not been happening:

Exercise

I started the Couch to 5k program over a week ago. I did the first two days of the program, took a day off to rest, and then life happened in all its chaotic glory and I’ve not exercised since. (Unless going shopping for birthday presents counts.) My new running shoes came in, but I’ve worn them once. To my birthday party. Where I sat on the couch, watched Doctor Who, and ate my TARDIS birthday cake.

Watching What I Eat

I like to call In Service “In Parties,” because if someone is going to throw a party In Service is the time to do it. That means two things: pizza and ice cream.

My University also outsourced its dining services over the summer and the new menu is in full swing now that classes have started and students are back. That means two things: pizza and ice cream.

Don’t get me wrong: I can eat pizza and ice cream. I actually had a nurse tell me not to feel guilty when I do. But no one should live off of pizza and ice cream. It’s time to start making more health-conscious food decisions again.

Logging Blood Sugar Levels

I’ve checked my blood sugar a minimum of 4 times a day, but I’ve not been logging the results consistently for the past few weeks. That means I don’t really have a clear picture of how my diet of pizza and ice cream has affected my blood sugar levels. I know it’s been roughly ok, but my management has been far from tight.  Checking more frequently and logging the results will show me how my choices are affecting my blood sugar levels and help me make better ones.

Thankfully, the beginning of a new semester is a time for fresh starts. It’s a time for planning a new schedule and setting new goals. Here are my health goals for this semester:

  1. Exercise three times a week. Right now, I’m planning on continuing with the Couch to 5k program and to go back to exercising at 5 pm, right before dinner. That time worked well for my blood sugar levels and for my schedule over the summer and looks like it will continue to be the best time during the semester as well.
  2. Make healthier meal choices. I found making healthy choices was easiest when I limited my carb intake to a maximum 50 grams of carbohydrates per meal. Healthy food choices are more filling and lower in carbs (usually), so I feel fuller and more satisfied after a healthy 45 carb meal than a less healthy one. Given the choice between one slice of pizza and a heaping bowl of strawberries and yogurt, I’d take the strawberries and yogurt. I’m going to reserve the pizza and ice cream for parties.
  3. Check blood sugar at least  5 times a day and log the results. Logging and reviewing blood sugar levels helps me put the individual numbers in perspective. I shouldn’t worry too much about one after lunch spike,  but if I’m always spiking after lunch I probably need to tweak some numbers or work on my carb counting. I won’t see the changes I need to make without tracking my numbers.

What are your goals for this semester? 

About Nel

As a graduate education student, I've come to the conclusion that teaching requires an addiction to caffeine. My favorite caffeinated beverages are coffee, tea, and diet Coke. And when I was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes in January 2012, I also came to the conclusion that living requires insulin. I blog about my busy life juggling graduate education courses, a teaching assistantship in my University's English department, and my recent type 1 diabetes diagnosis the The Clumsy Juggler. I do not live in New York City.

What do you think?

