Clumsy Juggling

Standard

So far, I don’t think my blog has lived up to its tagline. I’ve not really been juggling diabetes and grad school since I’ve started this blog–I’ve just been juggling diabetes.

I spent this summer adjusting to my new life: coming to terms with the fact that I have a chronic disease, sharpening my carb counting skills, starting my insulin pump,  learning how to integrate diabetes into my life without letting it take over my life.

And then school started.

It’s been one week and I feel completely out of control.

My blood sugar skyrocketed after breakfast. Since I haven’t checked after meals much the past couple of weeks, I’m wondering if I’ve been high after breakfast every day or if it’s just what I ate. Exercise? Haven’t been exercising either. At least I’ve started logging blood sugar numbers again.

It will get better though. Soon, I’ll know my new schedule and settle into a new rhythm. But for now, I feel like a very clumsy juggler.

 

About Nel

As a graduate education student, I've come to the conclusion that teaching requires an addiction to caffeine. My favorite caffeinated beverages are coffee, tea, and diet Coke. And when I was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes in January 2012, I also came to the conclusion that living requires insulin. I blog about my busy life juggling graduate education courses, a teaching assistantship in my University's English department, and my recent type 1 diabetes diagnosis the The Clumsy Juggler. I do not live in New York City.

4 responses »

    • I’ve heard of that cinnamon helps, but have only tried it once. Oatmeal with peanut butter and cinnamon is really good. You should try it sometime.

  1. Hey, in regards to carb-counting…if you’re ever looking for something “half-normal” that actually doesn’t have that many carbs, try a McDonald’s ice cream cone – 26 carbs…or a regular Krispy Kreme donut – don’t remember the exact amount, but it’s between 20 and 30. ^_^
    Most of the time these days, when I’m actually looking for a snack, I’m looking for something to bump my sugar up. Running around a warehouse for 8 hours everyday counts as exercise, at least according to my blood sugar. 😛

    • That’s the way it was for me last semester, although I was going low from too much insulin rather than from exercise. Now because of the stress I’ve not had a low blood sugar in a month.

      Also, icecream is my favorite dessert now. I can have a decent size amount without adding getting a huge amount of carbs. 🙂

What do you think?

