What Diabetes Looks Like: Brown Paper Packages

Standard

I sat down at my computer yesterday, dressed  in my favorite dress and my newly arrived flower brooch, and checked my email. I had not one, but two, newly arrived package notifications. Brown paper packages tied up with strings? These are a few of my favorite things! I rushed over to the post office as soon as I could.

The first package I opened was this one:

This Hoop’n Bolus from the Hanky Pancreas is basically a flower headband for your pump. Yes, I know. It’s brilliant.

I like the way my blue Animas Ping looks, but it’s nice to have a way of dressing it up. It looks more like an accessory and less like a pager when I wear the flower with it.

The second package was a meter case I ordered from Myabetic only two days ago. It shipped so fast I literally didn’t have time to blog about my decision to buy it! I had been eyeing their Mystique purse [I believe this purse is out of stock currently, since I can’t find it listed] for quite a while and was thinking about asking for it for Christmas. A few days ago I decided to buy their smaller, less expensive Xpress wallet when I realized that it came in colors other than black. Like this beautiful shiny red:

 

It’s a meter case, but IT LOOKS LIKE A WALLET. ALL CAPS CANNOT EXPRESS HOW EXCITED THIS MAKES ME FEEL.

My favorite part? There’s a detachable pouch for used test strips.

Gandalf Lathspell’s new home. I hope he doesn’t think it’s too girly.

As soon as I opened the package, I was glad I decided to purchase this wallet. I ran to a meeting yesterday with nothing but my new wallet and my keys–something I haven’t done since January. I felt liberated. It’s amazing the power of small things like actually liking the way your meter case looks.

About Nel

As a graduate education student, I've come to the conclusion that teaching requires an addiction to caffeine. My favorite caffeinated beverages are coffee, tea, and diet Coke. And when I was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes in January 2012, I also came to the conclusion that living requires insulin. I blog about my busy life juggling graduate education courses, a teaching assistantship in my University's English department, and my recent type 1 diabetes diagnosis the The Clumsy Juggler. I do not live in New York City.

3 responses »

    • The meter wallet has been very nice. I like having something pretty to carry around. I can run out of the door with just my meter case and my keys without feeling weird about carrying an obviously medical case instead of a normal wallet.

  1. Pingback: What Diabetes Looks Like: Big Bags and Little Bags « The Clumsy Juggler

What do you think?

