The Bolus Walk

Standard

This semester has left me with enough spare time to breath and shower (occasionally), but not much else. As a graduate assistant in my University’s English department, I teach tutorial classes of about 20 students each for the freshman English course En 102. I get paid for 20 hours worth of work, but the idea of only working 20 hours a week grading papers, planning lessons, and meeting with students is so ludicrous that I sometimes laugh when I get my paycheck.

I’m also taking 9 credits *count ’em, 9 worth of classes this semester. One of those classes is online–don’t ask me why letting a graduate student take residence courses and an online course at the same time is a good idea.

I’ve also got friends I want to spend time with, family to keep up with, a room I must keep clean if I’m to stay sane *and i’m serious about that, and somewhere I’ve got to find time to sleep.

Add type 1 diabetes into the mix, and it’s quite the juggling act.

This semester has been one of multitasking and consolidating. Want to spend time with my boyfriend? I plan a study date at the library. I file while listening to lectures for my online class. I sleep while showering. (Not quite, but close.)

My newest multitasking feat? The Bolus Walk.

It’s an unfortunate reality that most of the carb options in the dining common are fast acting* ie they make my blood sugar go up FAST. Add a little stress into the mix and it’s the perfect recipe for very high post-prandial* that’s a fancy-pancy english major word for “after dinner” spikes. Yuck. To counter-act some of the spikes, I’ve started checking my blood sugar and taking insulin  for what I know I will eat while I’m walking to the dining common.

Preventing spikes, bolusing, and transportation. All in one. Cha-ching.

About Nel

As a graduate education student, I've come to the conclusion that teaching requires an addiction to caffeine. My favorite caffeinated beverages are coffee, tea, and diet Coke. And when I was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes in January 2012, I also came to the conclusion that living requires insulin. I blog about my busy life juggling graduate education courses, a teaching assistantship in my University's English department, and my recent type 1 diabetes diagnosis the The Clumsy Juggler. I do not live in New York City.

What do you think?

