What Diabetes Looks Like: The Bacon Cupcake

Standard

I vowed on Sunday that I would eat no sweets this week. I did well*, until I saw the cupcakes on the dessert bar today*: chocolate with cream cheese icing and interesting sprinkles that I thought at first were carrot shavings.

Cupcake with Bacon Sprinkles

They weren’t carrot sprinkles.

They were bacon sprinkles. Yep, you read that right. I had a cupcake with BACON SPRINKLES.

Sound weird? You’ve clearly never eaten a bacon cupcake.

Me, eating a bacon cupcake. Don't judge.

UPDATE: For those of you who are interested, this cupcake did NOT cause my blood sugar to spike. I’m currently applying for grants to research my theory that bacon lowers insulin resistance. I’ve also been told that October 26 is Bacon Awareness Day, but I’ve not been able to confirm this rumor.

*If it’s legitimate to say “I did well” when the next day I redefined “eat no sweets” as “eat no sweets in the dining common, but allow yourself to eat one itty bitty piece of chocolate while reading that dissertation for your Research in Education presentation.” I think it counts.

*I just remembered that I ate a brownie at lunch yesterday. But let’s ignore that fact, shall we?

About Nel

As a graduate education student, I've come to the conclusion that teaching requires an addiction to caffeine. My favorite caffeinated beverages are coffee, tea, and diet Coke. And when I was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes in January 2012, I also came to the conclusion that living requires insulin. I blog about my busy life juggling graduate education courses, a teaching assistantship in my University's English department, and my recent type 1 diabetes diagnosis the The Clumsy Juggler. I do not live in New York City.

What do you think?

