What Diabetes Looks Like: If I put cinnamon on it, does that make it ok?

Standard

Sunday night, I had the most divine French toast…

french toast with hazelnut spread

Just looking at it makes me drool.

…topped with JIF mocha hazelnut spread.

JIF mocha cappuchino spread

200+ calories and 21 carbs per 2 tablespoon serving–but totally worth it. (Especially since my sister picked up the jar unopened FOR FREE in the hallway. Score!)

But I topped it with sugar-free syrup and cinnamon.

sugar free syrup and cinnamon

Cary’s American Diabetes Association Approved Sugar-Free syrup…and Cinnamon! (Just ignore the butter.)

And cinnamon has been clinically proven* to reduce insulin resistance. So that means this meal was good for my diabetes, right?

*Somewhere at some time by somebody–but don’t ask me who or when or where.

About Nel

As a graduate education student, I've come to the conclusion that teaching requires an addiction to caffeine. My favorite caffeinated beverages are coffee, tea, and diet Coke. And when I was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes in January 2012, I also came to the conclusion that living requires insulin. I blog about my busy life juggling graduate education courses, a teaching assistantship in my University's English department, and my recent type 1 diabetes diagnosis the The Clumsy Juggler. I do not live in New York City.

What do you think?

