The Problem with Grad School

Standard

I’m tempted to say that the problem with managing diabetes in grad school is a lack of time, but I know that’s not true. I have 24 hours, just like everyone else. Really, it’s a problem of priorities.

It’s not that managing my diabetes isn’t a top priority. It’s just that everything else is top priority too.

My school work is a top priority because it’s the reason I’m in school in the first place.

But my teaching is top priority too. After all, it is my job. And I have 62 students who need me.

My relationships are also a priority. What’s the point of good grades and a good job if I wreck my relationships to achieve them? People matter most in the end, right?

 

How do you prioritize when everything is a top priority?

About Nel

As a graduate education student, I've come to the conclusion that teaching requires an addiction to caffeine. My favorite caffeinated beverages are coffee, tea, and diet Coke. And when I was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes in January 2012, I also came to the conclusion that living requires insulin. I blog about my busy life juggling graduate education courses, a teaching assistantship in my University's English department, and my recent type 1 diabetes diagnosis the The Clumsy Juggler. I do not live in New York City.

2 responses »

  1. As a pre-med with massive family AND health responsibilities, I’d say I prioritize by what needs to happen NOW. An Organic Chem test needs to be studied for two weeks in advance, but a Children’s Lit paper due in two days needs to be done first. And yeah, I’ve tested my blood sugar while doing Physics problems…I can’t deny that I actually sometimes FORGET what that number is before I go back to studying and then need to check my meter, but it’s otherwise a nice time-saver!

  2. Thanks for your advice, Miriam. I have to remind myself that, even though I’ve still a long way to go, managing my diabetes is much more natural for me than it was a year ago when I was first diagnosed and that it’s intruding into my life much less than it used to as a result. Things are easier when I’m actually working on what I need to do NOW and not trying to think about how I can’t do it all at once.

What do you think?

