Why I Love String Cheese

Standard

I stood outside my dorm, dressed in a borrowed blue formal and wilting curls. As my boyfriend came into view, wearing his new suit bought for the occasion, he held out a blue gift bag and said with practiced formality, “Allow me to present you with a symbol of our relationship.”

I took the bag and looked inside. It was full of string cheese.

Perfect.

Since the annual Thanksgiving play is a fairly formal occasion, it’s traditional for guys to give their dates flowers. My guy, however, enjoys shaking up tradition, choosing something weird but significant. Once, he got me a computer mouse because I had been complaining about my computer track pad for weeks.

And I’ve always loved string cheese. It’s a delightfully tactile food. Growing up, I used to beg my mother to buy string cheese when she took me grocery shopping. Occasionally, she’d cave, and as we drove home, I’d eat a stick string by string, lingering as long as possible on each bite.

I rediscovered this favorite childhood snack last semester shortly after my diagnosis. Now that I’m on an insulin pump, I snack frequently. But last semester, while still on injections, snacks could be a hassle: there was the fuss (and potential waste) of using needles and I couldn’t take insulin doses smaller than a unit–rather annoying for someone as sensitive to insulin as I am. String cheese was something I could eat without having to think about it first. And it’s really nice to just eat something.

Now if only I could get myself this excited about vegetables…

 

About Nel

As a graduate education student, I've come to the conclusion that teaching requires an addiction to caffeine. My favorite caffeinated beverages are coffee, tea, and diet Coke. And when I was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes in January 2012, I also came to the conclusion that living requires insulin. I blog about my busy life juggling graduate education courses, a teaching assistantship in my University's English department, and my recent type 1 diabetes diagnosis the The Clumsy Juggler. I do not live in New York City.

What do you think?

