Sometimes

Standard

Diabetes is easy to complain about. You have to fight to keep blood sugar levels in range. You have to fight perverse desires to eat an entire pizza by yourself and wash it down with regular Coke, and then you have to fight feeling deprived because you shouldn’t. It’s all too easy to focus on the things that go wrong.

But sometimes, things go right.

Sometimes,while on vacation in Disney World, you take a wild guess at how many carbs are in the huge bowl of pasta you know you shouldn’t have ordered at Tony’s restaurant and you manage to time the combo bolus perfectly and your blood sugar stays in range for the rest of the afternoon.

Sometimes, your blood sugar is perfectly in range before you go to bed even though it’s been running high in the evening for the past couple of weeks.

Sometimes, you eat a piece of chocolate in the afternoon and your blood sugar is still perfectly on target before supper.

And when that happens, diabetes is almost beautiful.

About Nel

As a graduate education student, I've come to the conclusion that teaching requires an addiction to caffeine. My favorite caffeinated beverages are coffee, tea, and diet Coke. And when I was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes in January 2012, I also came to the conclusion that living requires insulin. I blog about my busy life juggling graduate education courses, a teaching assistantship in my University's English department, and my recent type 1 diabetes diagnosis the The Clumsy Juggler. I do not live in New York City.

2 responses »

  1. That is what I hate most about diabetes, it’s unpredictability. Every time you think you are doing it right, you end up getting strange highs or lows, at the most awkward moments.

    • Yes, it’s certainly frustrating when diabetes is unpredictable. I have trouble tracking patterns during the school year, too, since my schedule is also unpredictable. But sometimes my diabetes decides to behave itself. I try to enjoy those moments. 🙂

What do you think?

