What Diabetes Looks Like: Hypo-Nerds

Standard

Since I was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes a year ago, I’ve been on a search for the easiest, cheapest way of treating low blood sugar. When I was first diagnosed, I used juice boxes. Sucking juice through a straw makes me feel like I’m five years old again, something I find oddly comforting when I’m treating a low. But juice boxes are bulky and a bit expensive for a broke graduate student. I also tried pixy sticks for a little bit, but I discovered that the smells inside your purse seep through the paper wrapping into the candy powder. Japansese cherry blossom flavored pixy sticks? Ew.

Some bloggers I follow try to treat their lows with something more healthy, like dried fruit. I guess I could carry raisins around, but I would have to portion them out beforehand and I’m lazy. So I generally use glucose tablets to treat low blood sugar now. Evidently, I’ve got mutant taste buds because, unlike everyone other person with diabetes I know, I don’t think they taste like chalk.  But I’m always scoping out for other, preferably cheaper ways to treat my lows.

This Saturday, I wandered over into the Valentine’s Day candy aisle at my local grocery store to pick up something for my students and I saw these. . .

fun-sized nerds, 12 carbs a box

Fun-sized nerds. One box equals 12 carbs, the bag contains 50 boxes, and the whole thing cost roughly the same (if not less) than a bottle of 50 glucose tabs. AND THEY FIT INSIDE OF MY METER CASES PERFECTLY!!!! In addition, I received an absurd amount of enjoyment from the fact that I bought candy for myself because I have diabetes not in spite of my diabetes.

I love Valentine’s Day candy.

Speaking of Valentine’s Day, check out The Spare a Rose, Save a Child initiative to raise money for Life for a Child. Check out my earlier post for more info and to watch a video about Life for a Child. 

About Nel

As a graduate education student, I've come to the conclusion that teaching requires an addiction to caffeine. My favorite caffeinated beverages are coffee, tea, and diet Coke. And when I was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes in January 2012, I also came to the conclusion that living requires insulin. I blog about my busy life juggling graduate education courses, a teaching assistantship in my University's English department, and my recent type 1 diabetes diagnosis the The Clumsy Juggler. I do not live in New York City.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: My first hypo on the pump | My Insulin Pump JourneyMy Insulin Pump Journey

What do you think?

