Couch to 5 K Challenge Day 1: Truth or Dare

Standard

The Truth

I started the Couch to 5 K program back in August. By October, I was only 3 weeks into in the program. I then quit the program to try the Willy-Nilly Jogging program. While I’m stronger than I was in August, I’ve lost a lot of gains.

The Dare

My mission, should I choose to accept it, is to begin the program again, follow through, and still get my grading done. Here’s my game plan:

  • Jog three times a week–Tuesday evening, Thursday evening, and on Saturday.
  • Write a brief blog post after each workout for some accountability, noting my pre and post workout blood sugars.

I’m a firm believer in rewards. I know I should be motivated to follow through just by the health benefits I’ll receive, but sometimes stuff is more motivating. In addition to the accountability of blogging, I plan to keep myself on track my setting short term goals and rewarding myself for meeting them. These rewards will be something that I will use while exercising, giving myself further motivation to stick with it. My reward for starting is a much needed pair of athletic earbuds:

Here’s my first short-term goal:

  • Finish the first week on schedule.
  • Reward will be a new exercise shirt. A cute one.

Day 1

Pre-workout blood sugar: 131 mg/dl

The workout: 4 minutes warm up, alternate 1 minute jogging and 1:30 brisk walking, and  5 minutes cool down. 30 minutes total.

Post-workout blood sugar: 68 mg/dl

My thoughts:

  • I can tell I’m stronger than I was when I first started this program back in August. I felt invigorated when I finished rather than tired.
  • I decided to buy the earbuds while jogging. The standard Apple earbuds are really, really, really annoying while jogging.
  • I’m hungry.
  • I need to start grading….

 

 

 

 

About Nel

As a graduate education student, I've come to the conclusion that teaching requires an addiction to caffeine. My favorite caffeinated beverages are coffee, tea, and diet Coke. And when I was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes in January 2012, I also came to the conclusion that living requires insulin. I blog about my busy life juggling graduate education courses, a teaching assistantship in my University's English department, and my recent type 1 diabetes diagnosis the The Clumsy Juggler. I do not live in New York City.

4 responses »

  1. Way to go! You can totally do it.

    I always have to watch for any active insulin from previous boluses when I exercise. It supercharges it and drops me way too fast.

    Also, if you use a pump (I can’t remember), and do temporary rates, start them a good 60-90 minutes ahead of time, otherwise it won’t have time to kick your BG up.

    Stick with it!

  2. I agree with Scott. I always try to work out when I don’t have any active insulin on board, which for me is right before dinner time. Then I can adjust my next meal accordingly, rather than having to guess what affect my exercise will have on my BGs. I tried using the C25K before and it didn’t work for me, but I know a lot of people like it so hopefully it’ll get you in shape! 🙂

    • I like exercising before supper too. I found that hitting the gym right after work was perfect over the summer. My schedule is a little more irregular during the school year, but I’m going to try to jog before supper.

What do you think?

