Couch to 5K Challenge Day 2: Running Off Some Steam

Standard

Today I taught my first lesson for my teaching Practicum. The lesson went well and my students were fairly well-behaved and attentive for a bunch of 15-year-olds who would rather be anywhere but in English class. But I’ve been nervous about this lesson for days, so by the end of the day I needed to run off some steam.

Today’s Workout

Pre-workout blood sugar: 111 mg/dl

The workout: Same as yesterday–4 minutes warm up, alternate 1 minute jogging with 1:30 brisk walking, followed by a 5 minute cool down. 30 minutes total.

Post-workout blood sugar: 88 mg/dl

Thoughts

  • Confession: my jogging playlist consists entirely of Disney music.
  • Another confession: while I listen to these songs, I analyze them for literary elements. Is that weird?
  • I used the same temp basal rate that I used for my summer workout routine: a 50% reduction beginning half an hour before the workout and lasting half an hour after. It seems to be working today–my blood sugar went down, but not too fast and it was back until the 100’s by the time I ate supper at 5:45.

Loosening Up

I’m in the middle of grading the second batch of Freshman English papers this semester, and it’s killing my back (like everything I else I do).  During a grading break on Saturday, I found a great YouTube video of posture exercises. These exercises are simple, easy to remember, and (the best part) narrated by British people. Enjoy!

 

 

About Nel

As a graduate education student, I've come to the conclusion that teaching requires an addiction to caffeine. My favorite caffeinated beverages are coffee, tea, and diet Coke. And when I was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes in January 2012, I also came to the conclusion that living requires insulin. I blog about my busy life juggling graduate education courses, a teaching assistantship in my University's English department, and my recent type 1 diabetes diagnosis the The Clumsy Juggler. I do not live in New York City.

4 responses »

  1. Here’s a tip: start basal rates a good 2 hours before you want to see an effect. That’s what John Walsh, the guy who wrote Pumping Insulin, told me to do. Short-acting insulin peaks 2 hours, so the insulin you’re giving yourself now won’t actually do anything for another 2 hours, just like an injection. That’s probably why you went down but then back up. Try a little bit earlier and you might see a difference.

    • I’ve heard that too. Right now, I’m not starting my temp basals sooner because my blood sugar tends to go up during an exercise and then drop a few hours later. At least, that’s what I noticed over the summer when I had a steady workout routine. I’m expecting that results will differ once the jogging program gets more strenuous. I’ll try starting it earlier and see what I find.

      Thanks for the advice! I can use all the help I can get. 🙂

What do you think?

