Couch to 5K Challenge Day 3: Cool It, Little Britches

Standard

Remember how I said on Tuesday that I needed to blow off some steam? Today made Tuesday seem like nothing. Don’t get me wrong: I had a good, productive day. But I had so much to do that I felt like a coiled spring by 5 pm. Finding a whole section of papers that I had forgetten still needed grading didn’t help. Man, I needed that jog. I plugged in my iPod using my new earbuds…

athletic earbuds

 

…and headed it out to the tracks, listening to “The Bare Necessities” as I warmed up. As I headed out, I remembered something:

I met my first goal!

Life is good.

Today’s Workout

Pre-workout blood sugar: 118 mg/dl

The workout: Same as the last two days.

Post-workout blood sugar: 75 mg/dl

I’m thinking that I need to start my temp basals an hour ahead of time so I don’t go down quite so much. Overall, I’m happy with how steady my numbers have been.

The Bare Necessities

Reasons why I love this song:

  • It’s a jazzy song that has a banjo in it.
  • A song about “bare” necessities sung by a bear? Very punny.
  • For such a light-hearted song, it’s got a lot of truth in it. Why worry about something you can’t change? Cool it, little britches.

 

About Nel

As a graduate education student, I've come to the conclusion that teaching requires an addiction to caffeine. My favorite caffeinated beverages are coffee, tea, and diet Coke. And when I was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes in January 2012, I also came to the conclusion that living requires insulin. I blog about my busy life juggling graduate education courses, a teaching assistantship in my University's English department, and my recent type 1 diabetes diagnosis the The Clumsy Juggler. I do not live in New York City.

One response »

  1. Nice!

    I think you’ll notice a HUGE difference in starting your temporary basal rate early, like you mention.

    Test often, keep good notes.

    Exercising with diabetes often seems harder than it’s worth, but keep trying different combinations of things, and you’ll figure out a recipe that works perfectly for you.

What do you think?

