Couch to 5K Challenge Day 4: Mountain Road

Standard

 

 

When I met my first goal on Thursday, I didn’t feel like celebrating. I can’t think of anyone who feels like celebrating with 13 papers waiting on their desk to be graded.

But today, I feel like celebrating. I have not only met my first goal, but also kept on track with my routine even though I’m out of town this weekend visiting my grandparents. There’s as little-used road that runs past my grandparents’ house in the mountains. It was a little harder than running on a flat track, but the view made up for it. The air was cool and misty and smelled like fresh greenery and woodsmoke. I’ll let the view speak for itself, although iPod pictures can’t quite do the Blue Ridge mountains justice.

Today’s Workout

Pre-workout blood sugar: 200 mg/dl

The workout: 5-minute warm-up. Alternate 1:30 minutes jogging with 2 minutes walking. 4 minutes cool down.

Post-workout blood sugar: 140 mg/dl

I’m quite pleased with my blood sugar results this workout. I started my temp basal 60 minutes prior to beginning my workout this time. I also ate lunch right before going out. The timing wasn’t the best, but I cut back my lunchtime bolus and made sure I had some Nerds in my pocket before I headed out the door in case my blood sugar plummeted during my jog. As you can see, it did drop pretty fast, but it stayed fairly even considering  the amount of insulin I had in my system.

Also, I feel like I speak a new language now that I have diabetes. Probably because I do.

About Nel

As a graduate education student, I've come to the conclusion that teaching requires an addiction to caffeine. My favorite caffeinated beverages are coffee, tea, and diet Coke. And when I was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes in January 2012, I also came to the conclusion that living requires insulin. I blog about my busy life juggling graduate education courses, a teaching assistantship in my University's English department, and my recent type 1 diabetes diagnosis the The Clumsy Juggler. I do not live in New York City.

2 responses »

    • It helped that my grandparents were busy getting ready for a family get-together that evening. I actually got a fair amount of homework done that day too.

What do you think?

