Let he who is without sin, cast the first hamburger.

Standard
A pair of In-N-Out cheeseburgers.

A pair of In-N-Out cheeseburgers. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

No one ever judges me because I have diabetes. I’m young. I’m skinny. I have type 1 diabetes, a socially acceptable disease. Because I’m young and skinny, no one judges me when I eat less-than-healthy meals either.

But I’ve noticed that people with type 2 diabetes get judged all the time.

The idea out there is that people with type 2 diabetes brought it on themselves. They’re experiencing the just deserts of one too many desserts, so they don’t deserve sympathy or at least not as much as others. If they would only lose weight, or watch what they eat, or if only they didn’t drink so many sodas or eat so many ice cream sundaes, they wouldn’t be dealing with this disease. Right?

I understand that we do experience the cumulative effects of poor food choices. What I eat does affect the state of my health, so I can cause health problems by choosing to eat unhealthy food on a regular basis. From what I understand, type 2 diabetes isn’t caused by unhealthy food choices, but these choices do play a role in the development and aggravation of the disease.

I also think there are moral implications to our daily food choices. Since I believe that life is precious, I also believe that I am obligated to care for my own life. Part of that obligation includes watching what I eat.

My big, beefy hamburger with this issue of food judgment is that people are so busy judging what’s on someone else’s plate that they don’t notice what’s on their own.

When was the last time you ate a hamburger and fries? When you ate it, were you conscious of the amount of refined carbohydrates and saturated fat you were feeding your body?

Or when was the last time you had a loaded baked potato and bread and a generous dessert portion at the same meal?

Why beholdest thou the french fry that is in thy brother’s eye, but considerest not the Big Mac that is in thine own eye? Or wilt thou say to thy brother, Let me pull the ice cream cone out thine eye; and, behold, a banana split is in thine own eye? Thou hypocrite, first cast the unhealthy food off thine own plate; and then thou shalt see clearly to cast the unhealthy food off thy brother’s plate.

Let he who is without junk food cast the first hamburger.

About Nel

As a graduate education student, I've come to the conclusion that teaching requires an addiction to caffeine. My favorite caffeinated beverages are coffee, tea, and diet Coke. And when I was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes in January 2012, I also came to the conclusion that living requires insulin. I blog about my busy life juggling graduate education courses, a teaching assistantship in my University's English department, and my recent type 1 diabetes diagnosis the The Clumsy Juggler. I do not live in New York City.

What do you think?

