Couch to 5K Challenge Days 12 and 13: In a [Gold Rush] Daze

Standard

Everyone can use an excuse to wear weird costumes and coat their face with face-paint. Why else would football and Halloween exist? My school provides another such excuse: a tradition we call Gold Rush Daze. It happens once every four years. The campus is divided into two teams, Red Lightening and Green Thunder. For a month or so leading up to Gold Rush Daze, students decorate the campus and  attend pep rallies, make Gold Rush memes and videos, and generally display senseless, inexplicable team loyalty. The day of Gold Rush, classes are canceled and everyone on campus pretends to be a high schooler away for summer camp as they participate in a day of fun events and really weird competitions. We enjoy games, skits, wearing superhero costumes and watching usually dignified faculty members dye their hair their chosen team’s color.

Guess what team I was on?

While my last Gold Rush get up was more interesting (it involved a face-paint handprint across my face, orc-style), I have to say I'm quite fond of the mask and the Wonder Woman shirt.

While my last Gold Rush get up was more interesting (it involved a face-paint handprint across my face, orc-style), I have to say I’m quite fond of the mask and the Wonder Woman shirt.

I was tired at the end of the day (hence, no update on Tuesday), but I still went jogging! And guess what?

I met my goal! Yay!!

[Tuesday’s] Workout

Pre-workout blood sugar: 187 mg/dl

The workout: 5-minute warm-up walk followed by a 3 minute jog, 1:30 minute walk, 5 minute jog, 2:30 minute walk, another 3 minute jog, another 1:30 minute walk, another 5 minute jog. 5 minute cool-down walk.

Post-workout blood sugar: 114 mg/dl

Today’s Workout

Pre-workout blood sugar: 90 mg/dl

The workout: Same as Tuesday’s

Post-workout blood sugar: 82 mg/dl

This amazingly flat blood sugar pattern was achieved by a 50% reduction in basal rate 60 minutes prior to the jog in conjunction with a few sips of Gatorade during the jog. I’m either getting good at this or I’m getting lucky.

About Nel

As a graduate education student, I've come to the conclusion that teaching requires an addiction to caffeine. My favorite caffeinated beverages are coffee, tea, and diet Coke. And when I was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes in January 2012, I also came to the conclusion that living requires insulin. I blog about my busy life juggling graduate education courses, a teaching assistantship in my University's English department, and my recent type 1 diabetes diagnosis the The Clumsy Juggler. I do not live in New York City.

One response »

What do you think?

