Couch to 5K Day 18: Back (on the) Track

Standard

When I began this jogging challenge, I mistakenly believed that rewarding myself with stuff for meeting short term goals would increase my motivation. My idea was to use things I would only use while exercising–things like new exercise clothes or new earbuds–as special treats to keep me jogging. Meet the goal, get the treat. Makes sense, right?

The only problem is it doesn’t work.

The knowledge that I will get something doesn’t motivate me. Having already gotten something,however, does motivate me. I know I’m getting all crazy with verb tenses here, but think about it a little bit. I don’t know about you, but when I buy something I want to use it. You know what got me back on the track after a grad-school-project-induced hiatus? Buying myself an armband for my iPod. Part of what motivated me to go jogging on Tuesday was a desire to finish what I had started and a desire to jog for the sake of jogging. But I also wanted to use my cool new armband.

Aduro U-Band Sport Armband

 

So I guess I’ve learned that if I want to get things done, I should buy myself more stuff?

[Tuesday’s] Workout

Pre-workout blood sugar: 225 mg/dl

The workout: Since I took some time off from steady jogging to focus on projects, I lost some of my progress. I went back to week 6 of the program so I can work myself back up to jogging for a solid 20 minutes. 5 minutes of warm up. 5 minutes jogging, 3 minutes walking, 8 minutes jogging, 3 minutes walking, 5 minutes jogging. 5 minute cool down. 34 minutes total.

Post-workout blood sugar: 123 mg/dl

 

About Nel

As a graduate education student, I've come to the conclusion that teaching requires an addiction to caffeine. My favorite caffeinated beverages are coffee, tea, and diet Coke. And when I was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes in January 2012, I also came to the conclusion that living requires insulin. I blog about my busy life juggling graduate education courses, a teaching assistantship in my University's English department, and my recent type 1 diabetes diagnosis the The Clumsy Juggler. I do not live in New York City.

4 responses »

    • I fiddle a ton; I also obsessively watch the timer in the Couch to 5 k app. The touch screen still works when I’m using the armband because of the way it’s designed. If you decide to get one, look for one that allows touch screen functionality. I also turn the armband so that the iPod is facing towards me instead of away from me like most people do.

    • I fiddle a ton; I also obsessively watch the timer in the Couch to 5 k app. The touch screen still works when I’m using the armband because of the way it’s designed. If you decide to get one, look for one that allows touch screen functionality. I also turn the armband so that the iPod is facing towards me instead of away from me like most people do.

What do you think?

