Couch to 5K Challenge Day 25: Knowing When to Stop

Standard

For a person with type 1 diabetes, saying that a successful jog requires adequate preparation is an understatement. I can’t just strap on my running shoes and head out the door:  I need to make sure that I’m hydrated and that I have enough insulin in my system to function but not so much that my blood sugar drops too fast. Thankfully, my pump does most of the math for me.

Sometimes I simply forget to prepare. I don’t decrease my basal rate far enough ahead. I don’t hydrate myself. I don’t charge my iPod. (I still can’t jog without a timer.) It’s frustrating when I either can’t jog or have to cut a jog short because I wasn’t paying attention.

That’s what happened last Tuesday.

But even more frustrating are the days when my body doesn’t cooperate with me. The days when my blood sugar drops drastically just before I planned on jogging, and by the time I’ve gotten it back up I have a pounding headache and feel mildly nauseated, so I end up watching TV instead because I feel sick and cranky.

That’s what happened last Sunday.

Since I am human, days like Tuesday will happen. Sometimes, my brain shuts off.

And days like Sunday will happen too. When my body tells me it’s time to stop, I need to listen.

[Thursday’s] Jog

Pre-workout blood sugar: 202 mg/dl

The workout: 5 minutes warm-up. 28 minutes jogging. 5 minutes cool down. No more walking intervals!

Post-workout blood sugar: 176 mg/dl

About Nel

As a graduate education student, I've come to the conclusion that teaching requires an addiction to caffeine. My favorite caffeinated beverages are coffee, tea, and diet Coke. And when I was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes in January 2012, I also came to the conclusion that living requires insulin. I blog about my busy life juggling graduate education courses, a teaching assistantship in my University's English department, and my recent type 1 diabetes diagnosis the The Clumsy Juggler. I do not live in New York City.

6 responses »

  1. Sounds so familiar to me! It happened to me yesterday: I started running one hour and a half after dinner. Should not have done this. I felt awful after a few k and my pace was really slow.
    Do you take your meter with you? I usually take it with me and stop after 20 minutes, measure my bg and take glucose tablets, depending on my bg. That makes me fly again, at least for a few k.

    • Depends on where I go for a jog. When I go jogging around the track on my college campus, I bring my meter and my water bottle and glucose tablets (or something else sugary). When I jog around my dorm, I don’t take any of that stuff since I can just pop back into my room if I need any of it. I only go jogging for half an hour at a time, so I only check my sugar before and after I run. If I feel funny, I stop and check.

What do you think?

